The point system

The point’s system

Position Points
1st 25
2nd 18
3rd 15
4th 12
5th 10
6th 8
7th 6
8th 4
9th 2
10th 1

Various systems for awarding championship points have been used since 1950.As of 2010 the top ten cars are all awarded points, the winner receiving 25 points. The total number of points won at each race are added together and the driver and constructor with the most points at the end of the season are World champions. If both a team’s car finish in the points, they both receive constructors championship points, meaning the drivers and constructors championships often have difficult results.